Membership is open to any company or organisation involved in the design, service, maintenance, manufacture and supply of smoke control equipment and systems. The SCA membership includes: Manufacturers only, Designers, Installers and some members offer a full turnkey solution.

In April 2018 the SCA introduced additional criteria that each new member and each existing member is required to sign up to.

Download new membership criteria

Certified contractors will have clearly demonstrated that their trained staff consistently adhere to industry best practice and fully appreciate the importance of correct installation, inspection and maintenance, ultimately providing peace of mind for the consultant and building operator.

The SCA membership can be relied upon to provide impartial guidance.

All SCA members who install smoke control systems are required to apply for and receive SDI 19 Certification scheme accreditation, guaranteeing that they are suitably skilled and experienced in fire strategy verification, system design, installation and commissioning in accordance with the following standards and industry guideline documents:

  • Approved Document B
  • Approved Document B NI (Northern Ireland)
  • Technical Handbook (Scotland)
  • BS 9999
  • BS 9991
  • BS 7346 Parts 4, 5, 7 and 8
  • BS 8519
  • BS 8524
  • SCA Guidance Documents
  • EN12101 suite of standards



All potential members need to ensure they meet the following criteria available in this form before they can become a member. There is an additional fee to part-fund the SCA consultants


Please note that this link will take you through to the HEVAC Membership form on the FETA website